Skip To Main Content

School Board

The Delano School Board represents the needs and interests of students and staff in the district, making decisions to ensure the rights and welfare of all students and equal access to public education. Board members shall promote a positive, working culture that meets the educational needs of all students. 

School Board Members

The Delano Public Schools, School District is governed by a seven-member board elected by residents residing in the school district and serve alternating four-year terms. The Superintendent serves as an ex officio, non-voting member of the board. Each board member serves on at least one committee: Building and Grounds, Transportation Negotiatins, Classified Employee Negotiations, Teacher Negotiations Administrative Negotiations, Finace Committee, Delano CIty /School, and Legislative, MAWSECO, Wright Technical Center, Mn High School League and Safe Schools and SAFF.

Strategic Direction

The board is responsible for setting the strategic direction for the district, not for managing the tactics of day-to-day operations. The board will set clear goals for the superintendent that align with the strategic direction of the district. The board will enact policies to ensure fair, efficient, and effective operations, and will monitor, but not manage, the implementation of plans and policies.

Delano School Board Members

Rachel Depa

Chairperson
(1-2023 thru 12-2026) 

524 West River Road 
Delano, MN 55328 
(952) 240-9118
rachel.depa@delanoschools.org

Amy Johnson

Clerk
(1-2021 thru 12-2024) 

628 Railroad Avenue 
Delano, MN 55328 
(763) 972-1244 
amy.johnson@delanoschools.org

Sue Roeser

Vice Chairperson
(1-2021 thru 12-2024) 

5665 Fenning Avenue SE 
Delano, MN 55328 
(612) 860-0675 
sue.roeser@delanoschools.org

Sarah Baker

Director
(1-2023 thru 12-2026) 

5580 Lake Sarah Heights Dr
Loretto, Mn 55357
(612) 669-7967
sarah.baker@delanoschools.org

Jim Gierke

Treasurer
(1-2021 thru 12-2024) 

1465 Woods Creek Dr. 
Delano, MN 55328 
(651) 325-8124 
jim.gierke@delanoschools.org

Ryan Schaust

Director
(1-2023 thru 12-2026)

375 Franklin Avenue W
Delano, MN 55328
(612) 799-5170
ryan.schaust@delanoschools.org

Corey Black

Director
(1-2023 thru 12-2026) 

1807 SE 72nd Street 
Delano, MN 55328 
(612) 963-7206 
corey.black@delanoschools.org

Student School Board Representatives

Sophia Grant
(8-2023 thru 6-2025) 

Resources